Day 7: Cooking and Nutrition, how do YOU do it?

I am much more comfortable eating greasy food, junk food, processed food and occasionally vegetables with butter.  But nowadays I need to eat for health and to be the best I can be.

This eating style isn’t new.  I’ve been trying to counter my crappy eating habits since post-college.  It hasn’t been easy.  For one, I don’t enjoy cooking.  It’s usually been a chore.  Nobody in the family seemed to enjoy cooking, so I kind of adopted that behavior.  It’s only recently that I’ve been spending time in the kitchen.

Here are some of the my favorite resources to learn recipes and figure out how to cook:

To track my nutrition I use My Fitness Pal.

What tools/tips/suggestions do you have for cooking and learning about nutrition?  There are so many resources out there, it’s difficult to cut through the chaff.  I know about not eating processed food and I no longer eat McDonalds or fast food (ok, ok, occasionally In n Out Burger).  But on a daily basis, I limit the processed food I eat.

So, if you have books, websites or any easy cooking tips, let me know in the comments.

Thanks!!

#cooking #eatingright #nutrition #running

Author: oaklandrunning

I run because: * it's my form of meditation * helps me handle all the stress in my life * keeps me grounded and centered * makes me appreciate my body and take care of it (nutrition, stretching) * relaxes me * it's a simple activity that we know how to do instinctively * it's accessible to anybody, anywhere

Leave a Reply

