Writing is hard

Duh.  Of course writing is hard.  So why am I trying to write?  Why “put myself out there”?  I want to grow and learn, sure. And unfortunately, there’s always this weird, awkward puberty period where growth happens. And that’s where my writing is right now.

Eventually, my goal is to write more in depth posts about running, life, current events. I’m nowhere near doing that right now. So, maybe you want to save yourself some time and come back here in a year. I feel like I’m learning how to walk just by posting on a daily basis. It’s slow, arduous and I keep “falling” by not posting on a regular basis.

I’m inspired and emboldened by quotes like:

“If you want to be a writer, write!”

I mostly want to write for my own sanity. There are so many thoughts, ideas and discoveries that I have that I need to express. And rather than bug my friends and family with every little snippet of an idea, I have decided to put myself out there (warning: nonsequitur ahead).

Another shooting has happened (I’m watching the morning news right now). When will this nonsense end? Does the entire nation need anger management classes? Why can’t we ban guns? And shouldn’t we be offering more mental health services if people are taking out their frustration by killing people? (Yes, I know how naive this all sounds, but again, I’m in the early “walking” stage of writing and writing from the hip will help me in the long run).

Meanwhile, I do have a few things you can look at on Pinterest. That’s another place I’m utilizing. (And it’s not all cat photos, sorry).

Please have a good weekend and try not to kill anyone.

You can follow me on Pinterest.

Author: oaklandrunning

I run because: * it's my form of meditation * helps me handle all the stress in my life * keeps me grounded and centered * makes me appreciate my body and take care of it (nutrition, stretching) * relaxes me * it's a simple activity that we know how to do instinctively * it's accessible to anybody, anywhere

Leave a Reply

